• Pulse Picks
  • Posts
  • CHECK IT OUT: How I got (and lost) my gym boyfriend

CHECK IT OUT: How I got (and lost) my gym boyfriend

Everyone online complains about expensive gym subscriptions, but I have a different problem - I’m single.

Somebody told me that the gym is the perfect place to go if you want to meet hot guys. That's how I found myself at a popular gym in my area. I wore tight gym shorts and a sports bra, ready to find the love of my life. And I did. I met a handsome young tech bro.

We hung out several times after gym sessions, and we went on many dates. All of a sudden, I saw him at the gym helping out another woman with her workout. I then noticed his responses to me were a bit cold. We used to spend hours talking, but now he just passes by me and says hi.

See, I've forgotten about the gym for now. I'm interested in finding other places to meet new people.

Here are the top 5 places I'm checking out this week:

Top 5 Picks

Friday

1. After Dark Friday

Free party loading. Mavins Records paid for everyone to attend this lit party happening at Hard Rock Cafe, VI. I know there’ll be many single men and women there. Looking for more details?

2. Fans Bant Watch Party

What do you think about watching two African heavy-weight boxers beat each other up? I know there’ll be eligible bachelors there, so I’ll be heading over to Red Bar Lagos, Lekki Phase 1. Need details?

Saturday

 3. Mojo the Grid: 9ice Performing Live

9ice almost won a Grammy; at least he believed he could. I’ll watch him perform nostalgic songs at 5 Thomas Ajufo Street, Opebi, Ikeja, and maybe meet the love of my life. Make reservations below if you’re also interested.

Sunday

4. Worship SZN

God has to be involved in my search, so I’ll watch and worship with TY Bello live at Lifepointe Church, 3 Remi Olowude, Lekki.

 5. Generally Speaking with Chuks D General

All the comedy greats, like Ali Baba and Ay, will be at Congress Hall, Transcorp Hilton, Abuja. Laugh and forget your sorrows. Abuja, people should check it out.

See more of the fun events happening this weekend:

Friday

6. Whiskey with the Girls

Girls! Friday is for you, and tbh, what better way to spend Friday than hanging out with other fabulous ladies at The Terrence Lagos, VI? Save a seat and make reservations.

7. March to a Billion

In celebration of International Women’s Day this Friday, a bunch of women are walking in support of women. The takeoff spot is Eko Atlantic City. Interested?

SATURDAY

8.  Element House

House music lovers prove you don’t need lyrics to enjoy music. This party is going down at Sol Beach, Oniru.

9. Silent Disco Party

Imagine people dancing in what looks like silence while music blasts through their headphones. You need to experience this at 31 Admiralty Way, Lekki Phase 1.

10. Nourish 2 Flourish

Hang out and share ideas with creative women at Sol Beach, Oniru. If that’s your crowd, get tickets below.

11. Ascension by Activity Fest

House music parties are trending; this one is going down at the Lekki Coliseum, Lekki.

12. Area 51: Battle to the Amapianoverse

Abuja, an Amapiano party is knocking at your door. Will you be at this party happening at Renao Garki, Abuja? Interested in tickets?

13. Faze and Friends: Legends concert

The old-school legends will be in Abuja. Cop your tickets and be at Harrow Park Golf Club, Abuja.

14. Unheard Women Edition

Beautiful, fast-rising Nigerian female musicians will be at Ram & Beer Oyibo Adjarho, Lekki. It’s free.

15. Fight Night at the Base Club 

Watch two heavyweights (Anthony Joshua and Francis Ngannou) battle it out on a large screen at 1 Rosenje Street, Soluyi Gbagada.

16. Crayon Live

Lovers of Crayon who live in Ibadan can check him out at Club Switch. Make a reservation below.

17. Light up Port Harcourt.

Shallipopi will be live in PH City, with the ever-bubbly Kiekie hosting the concert at Aztech Arcum Stadium Road, PH. Want Tickets?

18. Female gaming mixer 

In honour of IWD, female gamers should check out this gaming tournament at 3 Landmark Boulevard, VI. It’s free.

19. Abfillage: My Society and I (Solo Exhibition)

If you love art and cocktails, check out this solo exhibition at Alliance Francaise, Ikoyi. Get more information.

SUNDAY

20. Canvas Connection

Sip, paint, eat, and do crafts—ou la la—that sounds fun. The venue is Courtyard, 4 Aj Marinho Drive, VI. It’s especially special since that's Mother’s Day.

21. Sip and Paint + Karaoke

Another sip and paint event is going down, but music is also part of the fun, so pop up at 26 Prince Adelowo Adedeji St., Lekki.

Wish me good luck, guys! Fingers crossed, I find the right man at any of these events. I’ll keep y'all posted and dish out all the exciting details next Thursday. 

xoxo,

Temi